Home | News |

Staff Supporting Economics Celebrated for Extraordinary Contributions

The enormous contributions of the College of Letters and Science Blue Cluster Staff supporting Economics students and faculty were celebrated at their annual retreat on June 20th.

Blue Cluster staff, led by CAO Kathy Miner, are integral to every function of the Economics Department.

The Financial Office, led by Business Office Manager Monica Fischer, with Susan Lutman and Nicole Dyer, manage resource flows so that many events, student hiring, conference travel, and hosting academic visitors to promote research, can take place smoothly and professionally.

Events planners Lori Odenweller, Stephanie Ivory and Holly Lefebvre make sure that special events like the Levine Family Fund Series and the plethora of department research seminars with world-renown speakers that take place throughout the year go off without a hitch, making new discoveries available to the University community and the broader public.

Personnel analyst Amanda Isaac helps to make sure the good things happening in research, teaching, and service are visible as Economics faculty advance through the University Merit and Promotions system.

The Undergraduate Advising Center, led by Anya Gibson, is an integral part of Economics student’s success. Anya’s team of advisors this past year were: Leanna Friedrich, Christina Halliwell, Katherine Ampaw, Cindy Alvarenga, John Dolan as well as our peer advisors.

Graduate Program Coordinator, Dana Reed, works closely with our graduate students and program chair to ensure they are staying on track to make good progress in our program.

The Cluster is supported by IT services, a unit managed by Jeremy Phillips and Janine Carlson, who keep faculty and students running on top-quality computing and database systems.

Yoke Dellenback manages the research services center, helping faculty apply for and manage grants from organizations like the National Science Foundation and the Gates Foundation to sponsor world-class research.

This year some staff were nominated by their peers and those they supervise and awarded for their extraordinary contributions to the Department and College. Anya Gibson and Leanna Friedrich received the Chancellor’s Staff Excellence Award; Monica Fischer and Kathy Miner were recognized as Work-Life Champions.