Home | News |

Robert Feenstra delivers the Ohlin Lecture

On September 17-18, Robert Feenstra delivered this year’s Ohlin Lecture at the Stockholm School of Economics. The annual lecture is named in honor of Bertil Ohlin, who was jointly awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 1977 together with the British economist James Meade "for their pathbreaking contribution to the theory of international trade and international capital movements". The Ohlin Lectures are devoted to important economic problems in areas close to Ohlin’s heart and are subsequently published in book form by the MIT Press, Cambridge, MA and London, in a series that has gained a wide readership. Distinguished economists working on international economics and trade such as Jagdish Bhagwati, Paul Krugman, Jeffrey D. Sachs, Robert A. Mundell, Elhanan Helpman, Maurice Obstfeld, and Kenneth Rogoff among others delivered previous years’ lectures. Professor Feenstra holds the C. Bryan Cameron Distinguished Chair at the Economics Department, UC Davis. He is part of an active research group on international economics and trade that includes Professors Paul Bergin, Katheryn Russ, Deborah Swenson, Alan Taylor, Wing Woo and many doctoral students.