Following the campus guidelines for Coronavirus all UC Davis classes, lectures, seminars, labs and discussion sections will move to virtual instruction and remain virtual through the end of Summer Session 2021, including final exams. Given this, the department’s administrative functions have moved to remote work conditions. To contact staff members of the department via e-mail or phone, please go to our administrative staff contact page.  We anticipate a return to campus for Fall 2021.

Home | News |

@UCDavisEcon Moreira and Perez win Hellman Fellowship Award

UC Davis Economics faculty Diana Moreira and Santiago Perez win UC Davis Hellman Fellowship 2021 Award.


"The Hellman family began the Hellman Fellows Program in 1994, making grants to colleges and universities in support of junior faculty research.  We made an educated guess that junior faculty could greatly benefit from early career funding. It seems we were right.

Over the years, the Hellman Fellows program has supported more than 1,500 junior faculty members, who are now chairs and heads of departments, MacArthur Geniuses and tenured faculty with long track records of successful research."

Professor Perez and Moreira won USD 30,000 to support their research on "The Costs and Benefits of Meritocracy"